The draw for the 2018-19 season QSL Cup was made at the Qatar Stars League Management headquarters at the Al Bidda Tower on Wednesday, 29th August.

The draw ceremony was held in the presence of QSLM’s Competitions and Football Development Department Acting Executive Director Mohammad Ahmad Abdulla, Competitions Department Director Ahmed Al Adsani and representatives of all 12 competing clubs.

The clubs were ranked according to their order in last season’s QNB Stars League standings, with promoted Al Shahania replacing relegated Al Markhiya as the last team.

The draw results are as follows:

Group A

Al Duhail, Al Gharafa, Umm Salal, Al Arabi, Qatar SC, Al Kharaitiyat

Group B

Al Sadd, Al Rayyan, Al Sailiya, Al Khor, Al Ahli, Al Shahania

The QSL Cup schedule was released in co-ordination with the Ministry of Culture and Sports.

The tournament will begin on 7th September. Like last season, matches will be played during international breaks.

The draw ceremony was followed by a technical meeting, presided over by Al Adsani and attended by Qatar Football Association’s Referees’ Committee representative Abdullah Al Balooshi as well as clubs’ representatives.

Matters related to the tournament as well as rules and regulations were discussed. The change in format will see the six-team group stage being followed by knockout quarterfinals instead of four teams directly qualifying for the semifinals last season.

A fourth substitute will be allowed during extra time and only red-card suspension will be carried forward to the following season’s QSL Cup.

The meeting stressed the need for players to co-operate fully with the referees and abide by their decisions. The teams’ jersey colours were also decided.

Below is the schedule: